fbpx
Final Legal Planning Blog

冠状病毒法律规划:我需要什么文件?

考虑到冠状病毒,了解不同的法律计划文件以及如何将其用于记录愿望并授权亲人在发生某些事情时提供帮助非常重要。

“妈妈在医院里,我需要为她处理财务和其他事务。”
“我如何确保知道自己的医疗保健愿望?”
“如果我发生什么事情,如何确保家人得到照顾?”

 

随着冠状病毒危机席卷我们的社区,人们提出了许多这样的问题,这增加了不确定性,孤立性和患病风险。对于老年人或具有潜在健康状况的人尤其如此。

由于证人或公证的要求,社会疏远措施可能使完成这些文件变得更加困难,这就是为什么我们也共享可能的选择。以下是针对常见问题的解答,这些回答是针对纽约居民的。

如果将来无法,我该如何记录我的医疗愿望并命名一个值得信赖的人为我做出医疗决定?

在这场健康危机期间,我们所有人都在关注确保获得所需和想要的医疗服务。如果您不再能够做出自己的医疗保健决定,将会发生什么?纽约州允许您填写“卫生保健代理人”来命名个人(以及替补),您可以信任该个人代您提倡并做出有关医疗的决定。 在2020年10月4日之前,无法与面对面的见证人见面的人可以使用远程见证。

如果您被送往医院或疗养院,工作人员将可以协助您完成《医疗照护代理》。另外,如果您被送往医院或疗养院,却无法或不愿签署 卫生保健代理家庭健康护理决定法(FHCDA) 如果您无法做出其他决定,则允许其他人代表您做出医疗决定。

如果您在社区中,那么还有其他几种选择。提供了有关这些选项和表格(包括“健康护理代理”表格)的说明。 这里.

如果我被隔离,住院或丧失能力,我该如何允许受信任的人在财务或法律问题上为我提供帮助?

一个 授权书 是一份法律文件,允许一个称为“委托人”的人与另一个称为“代理人”的人共享他们在财务和财产方面的权力。 POA代理商有义务遵循委托人的指示,或以其最大利益行事。如果代理人违反了委托人的职责,则可能导致调查和不利的法律影响。提供了POA代理指南 这里.

为了确保正确起草POA并防止滥用的可能性,我们强烈建议起草有经验的律师起草POA。但是,在这个危机时期,可能会限制律师的访问并鼓励社会隔离,在紧急情况下有可能创建POA。 如果我们在没有经验丰富的律师的情况下制作此POA,则一旦我们克服了COVID-19,就应该重做。州长Cuomo签署了一项行政命令,允许通过现场音视频传输进行公证,直到2020年10月4日, 因此,如果委托人和/或代理人(必须分别进行公证)无法访问公证人,则有可能进行远程公证。提供有关POA的更多信息 这里,并且可以找到POA表格 这里。可以找到包含分步信息的POA文档 这里.

这场危机结束后,我们建议与经验丰富的律师会面,以审查和重新起草POA。

什么是遗嘱?如果我或我所爱的人未签名就去世,会发生什么?

一个 遗愿 是一份法律文件,阐明谁将在您去世后得到您的财产,并应由律师进行。如果纽约某人在没有有效的遗嘱的情况下死亡,其财产将通过所谓的“无遗嘱”。可以找到有关肠证的其他信息 这里。在正常情况下,由于存在创建无法执行的文件的风险,我们强烈建议在没有资深律师监督的情况下创建和签署“遗嘱”。如果在当前的健康危机期间发生紧急情况,可以使用免费的Will绘图程序 这里。在这场危机的制约因素结束后,我们建议与经验丰富的律师会面以起草并执行遗嘱。

我如何确保亲人知道我的葬礼愿望和事先安排?

在纽约, 允许某些人做出决定 关于您的葬礼/葬礼/火葬。如果您要记录任何预先安排并选择可以处理您的丧葬,火葬的人,或者您的家人离您较远,则应签署一份 委任代理人控制遗体处置,可以找到 这里.

计划可能无法做出自己的决定的可能性会让您感到恐惧或不知所措。对这些情况进行计划并不能使它们更有可能发生,这是一种额外的保护措施,可确保您和您所爱的人以您想要的方式得到照顾。

如有疑问,请访问我们的 人生总选择 页或通过以下方式联系我们的进气线 nylag.org/gethelp.

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
Final Legal Planning Blog

Coronavirus Legal Planning: What Documents do I Need? 

In light of the coronavirus, it is important to know about the different legal planning documents and how they can be used to document wishes and empower loved ones to help should something happen.

“Mom is in the hospital and I need to take care of financial and other matters for her.”
“How do I make sure that my health care wishes are known?”
“How do I ensure my family is taken care of if something happens to me?”

 

Many of these questions are being asked as the coronavirus crisis confronts our communities, raising uncertainty, isolation and the risk of illness. This is especially true for seniors or for those with an underlying health condition.

Social distancing measures can make it harder to complete these documents because of witness or notarization requirements, which is why we are also sharing possible alternatives.  Below are answers to frequently asked questions and are specific to New York residents.

How can I document my medical wishes and name someone I trust to make health care decisions for me if I cannot in the future?   

During this health crisis, we are all concerned with ensuring that we will receive the medical care we need and want. What happens if you are no longer able to make your own health care decisions? New York State allows you to complete a Health Care Proxy to name an individual (as well as a backup), who you trust to advocate and make decisions regarding medical care on your behalf. Until Oct 4, 2020, remote witnessing is available to those who are unable to meet with witnesses face to face.

If you are admitted to a hospital or nursing home, staff will be able to assist you with the completion of a Health Care Proxy. Also, if you are admitted to a hospital or a nursing home and are unable or unwilling to sign a Health Care Proxy, the Family Health Care Decisions Act (FHCDA) allows others to make medical decisions on your behalf if you become unable to do so.

If you are in the community, there are several other options available to you. An explanation about these options and forms (including the Health Care Proxy form) is available here.

How can I allow a trusted person to assist me with financial or legal issues if I am quarantined, hospitalized, or incapacitated?

A Power of Attorney is a legal document that allows a person, called “Principal”, to share the powers that they have over their finances and property with another person or person(s), who are called “Agents”. A POA Agent is obligated to follow the directions of the Principal, or to act in their best interests. If an Agent breaks this duty to a Principal, it can result in investigations and negative legal repercussions. A guide for POA Agents is available here.

In order to ensure proper drafting of a POA and prevent the potential for abuse, we strongly urge that a POA be drafted with an experienced attorney. However, in this time of crisis where access to attorneys may be limited and social isolation is encouraged, it is possible, in case of an emergency, to create a POA. This POA, if crafted without an experienced attorney, should be redone once we overcome COVID-19. Governor Cuomo signed an Executive Order allowing for notarization via live audio-video transmission until Oct 4, 2020, so if the Principal and/or Agent (each must notarize separately) are unable to access a notary, remote notarization may be a possibility. More information on POAs is available here, and POA forms can be found here. A fill-in POA document with step-by-step information can be found here.

After this crisis is over, we recommend meeting with an experienced attorney to review and redraft a POA.

What is a Last Will and what happens if I or someone I love passes away without having signed one?

A Last Will is a legal document that states who will get your belongings after your death, and should be done with an attorney. If a person in New York dies without a valid Last Will, their property will pass through what is called “intestacy.” Additional information on intestacy can be found here. Under normal circumstances, we strongly discourage creating and signing Last Wills without the supervision of an experienced attorney due to the risk of creating a document that will not be enforceable. If an emergency arises during the current health crisis, there is a fill-in, free Will drafting program available here. After the constraints of this crisis are over, we recommend meeting with an experienced attorney to draft and execute a Last Will.

How do I make sure my loved ones know about my funeral wishes and pre-arrangements?

In New York, certain persons are allowed to make decisions concerning your funeral/burial/cremation. If you want to document any pre-arrangements and select someone to be able to handle your funeral, burial or cremation, or if your family members are far away, you should sign an Appointment of Agent to Control Disposition of Remains, which can be found here.

It can feel scary or overwhelming to plan for the possibility that you may not be able to make your own decisions. Planning for these scenarios does not make them more likely to happen, it’s an added protection to ensure you and your loved ones are taken care of in the way you want.

If you have questions, please visit our Total Life Choices page or contact our intake line at nylag.org/gethelp.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Domestic Violence Awareness Month | ReThinkAccess ReThinkSystems

The last 18 months have exacerbated many barriers that survivors face when attempting to access justice. Many of the survivors we have spoken to during the pandemic have complained of increased barriers, including lack of language access, lack of access to technology and childcare, and heightened mistrust of the legal system and the police.

Read More »

Domestic Violence Awareness Month: Healthy Financial Relationships

More than 1 in 3 women (35.6%) and more than 1 in 4 men (28.5%) in the United States have experienced rape, physical violence, and/or stalking by an intimate partner in their lifetime. Research, as well as NYLAG’s experience advocating for survivors, has established that Linda’s situation is not unique: domestic violence is often accompanied by financially controlling or retaliatory behavior.

Read More »

Black Women Equal Pay Day 2021

If you are a Black women, Black Women’s Equal Pay Day is an acknowledgment of the unique challenges that you face in the job market. It is also a call to action. New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) sees you and supports you both with our one-on-one legal and financial counseling services as well as in our impact litigation and public advocacy campaigns.

Read More »

Safety Net Assistance (SNA) Benefits Extended to Special Immigrant Juvenile (SIJ) Beneficiaries

The New York Legal Assistance Group is pleased to announce that we have reached a settlement agreement that will result in New York expanding eligibility for subsistence public assistance, called Safety Net Assistance (SNA) benefits, to special immigrant juvenile (SIJ) beneficiaries—unmarried immigrants under 21 years old who have been abandoned, abused, or neglected by one or both of their parents.

Read More »
English
Scroll to Top