fbpx
Blog Header (1)-min

NYLAG幫助懷孕的母親Alma Santiago從ICE拘留中獲釋

即時發布  

聯繫: bpacheco@nylag.org | c:917.771.9845

(紐約州紐約)2019年7月9日:美國國土安全部已釋放Alma Centeno Santiago(2019年4月被ICE拘留的紐約孕婦)的拘留權。阿爾瑪於7月6日(星期六)清晨回到紐約,並與肯尼迪國際機場的3歲和11歲的美國公民孩子團聚。多虧了紐約法律援助組織(NYLAG)律師領導的法律團隊,以及格林伯格·特勞里格(Greenberg Traurig)和NSC社區法律辯護律師的共同顧問,阿爾瑪可以帶著孩子留在美國,同時尋求適當的程序。為之奮鬥。 

阿爾瑪(Alma)的案子突顯出移民權利經常被侵犯。我們認為,在拘留期間,阿爾瑪提倡自己和未出生嬰兒的健康,並為報復而被立即遣送出境。我們還認為,阿爾瑪被剝奪了正當的法律程序,因為她從未有機會尋求我們認為她有權獲得的移民救濟。我們很高興Alma能夠與她的家人團聚,現在可以在幫助她尋求救濟的同時為自己和未出生的孩子獲得必要的醫療服務。 NYLAG將永遠代表所有人的權利,無論其移民身份如何。” NYLAG移民保護部門副主任Melissa Chua說。 

“在沒有阿爾瑪的情況下,過去的幾個月令人極為悲傷和恐懼。我們經歷了每個移民家庭都擔心的噩夢。在這個困難時期,我們的重中之重是一直非常想念母親的孩子們的幸福。讓阿爾瑪回到孩子身邊並專注於懷孕是一種祝福。她在ICE拘留中所經歷的經歷令人痛苦,我們此時要求保密,因此她可以專注於康復和與孩子們在一起而不是新聞。我們希望阿爾瑪(Alma)的案子能凸顯出,真正的人,有美國公民子女的真正家庭正受到我們移民制度的傷害。我們要感謝所有當選官員,新聞媒體,尤其是紐約州立大學洛杉磯分校的Alma律師及其共同顧問,他們為引起人們對這種不公正現象的關注並讓Alma回家而所做的一切。有了阿爾瑪回到家,我們的心就充滿了。”親密的家人珍妮弗·帕切科(Jennifer Pacheco)說。 

ICE於2019年4月將阿爾瑪(Alma)在皇后區法院外拘留,然後迅速將其驅逐出境。 

“在ICE監護期間,她經歷了醫學上的艱難懷孕。她為自己和未出生的孩子提倡,因為ICE拒絕提供適當的食物和醫療服務。但是,ICE沒有提供適當的營養和醫療服務,而是孤立了Alma,繼續否認她的基本醫療服務,對她的痛苦和包括兩個美國公民孩子在內的家人的痛苦無動於衷。 ICE經常對在本國因暴力和迫害而逃離的被拘留移民造成虐待和虐待。但是阿爾瑪和其他像她一樣的人不是“非法”或“犯罪”的,他們應該得到公平的對待。紐約州立大學移民保護局局長喬迪·齊瑟默(Jodi Ziesemer)說,阿拉木圖對社區絕對沒有風險。 

在2019年6月25日,NYLAG律師要求將Alma緊急從移民上訴委員會(BIA)處撤職。第二天,BIA拒絕了Alma的要求,而ICE將其轉移到路易斯安那州的工廠,作為將她遣返危地馬拉的第一步。但是,NYLAG的全職律師團隊和聯合律師立即採取行動,並向紐約南區法院向聯邦法院提出了緊急請求,以防止ICE將Alma緊急遣送至危地馬拉。法院批准了《臨時限制令》,以允許進一步訴訟。國土安全部隨後同意從ICE拘留所釋放Alma Centeno Santiago。 

發行Alma受到了公眾的廣泛支持,包括社交媒體上的#FreeAlma標籤,以及國會議員Gregory Meeks,TiffanyCabán和Senator Gillibrand的公眾支持。 

去年,NYLAG處理了18,534宗移民案件,從庇護申請到驅逐出境辯護,影響了36,000人,其中包括像Alma這樣的母親。 

關於NYLAG

紐約法律援助組織(NYLAG)成立於1990年,是一家領先的非營利性法律服務組織,致力於為貧困,低收入的成年人,兒童和家庭提供法律服務。我們通過全面,免費的民事法律服務,直接代理,影響訴訟,政策倡導,財務諮詢,醫療法律合作模式以及社區教育和合作關係來滿足新出現的緊急需求。

###

分享這個帖子

相關文章

Recently-arrived migrants in a crowd looking at paper with a security guard

Migrants Encounter ‘Chaos and Confusion’ in New York Immigration Courts

New York’s immigration systems are severely overwhelmed and unprepared to address a growing backlog of cases for newly-arrived migrants. The “chaos and confusion” come “at the expense of people’s rights and people’s ability to seek legal protection in the United States,” NYLAG’s Jodi Ziesemer commented in this article from The New York Times.

閱讀更多 ”

N.Y.C.’s Social Services Chief Said to Face Inquiry Over Shelter Failure

New York City’s social services commissioner is being investigated over his handling of cases where homeless families had to stay overnight at a Bronx intake office while applying for shelter in July 2022. In a testimony to the City Council cited in this piece, a lawyer for NYLAG shared the experiences of two of her clients who stayed overnight at the office.

閱讀更多 ”
繁體中文
滾動到頂部

fbpx
Search
Close this search box.
Blog Header (1)-min

NYLAG helps get pregnant mom Alma Santiago released from ICE detention

For Immediate Release  

Contact: bpacheco@nylag.org | c: 917.771.9845

(NEW YORK, NY) July 9, 2019: The Department of Homeland Security has released Alma Centeno Santiago—a pregnant New York woman detained by ICE in April 2019— from detention. Alma arrived back to New York City in the early morning of Saturday, July 6 and had an emotional reunion with her U.S. citizen children, ages 3 and 11, at JFK airport. Thanks to a legal team led by New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) attorneys, along with co-counsel from Greenberg Traurig and NSC Community Legal Defense, Alma can remain in the United States, with her young children, while seeking the due process she is fighting for. 

“Alma’s case highlights how immigrants’ rights are too often violated. We argued that while in detention, Alma advocated for her health and that of her unborn child and, in retaliation, was placed into immediate deportation. We also argued that Alma was denied due process of law because she had never had a chance to seek the immigration relief we believe she is entitled to. We are glad that Alma can be reunited with her family and now get the necessary medical care for herself and her unborn child while we help her seek that relief. NYLAG will always stand for the rights of all, regardless of immigration status,” said Melissa Chua, Associate Director of NYLAG’s Immigrant Protection Unit. 

“The last few months without Alma have been overwhelmingly sad and scary. We have lived the nightmare that every immigrant family fears. During this difficult time, our priority has been the well-being of her children who have missed their mother terribly. Having Alma back to be with her children and focus on her pregnancy is a blessing. What she experienced in ICE detention was traumatic and we ask for privacy at this time so she can focus on healing and being with her kids away from the news. We hope that Alma’s case highlights that real people, real families with US citizen children, are being harmed by our immigration system. We want to thank all the elected officials, news media, and especially Alma’s lawyers at NYLAG and their co-counsel for everything they did to bring attention to this injustice and to get Alma back home where she belongs. With Alma back home, our hearts are full,” said Jennifer Pacheco, a close family friend. 

Alma was detained outside of a Queens courthouse by ICE in April 2019 and then fast-tracked to be deported. 

“While in ICE custody, she experienced a medically difficult pregnancy. She advocated for herself and her unborn child because ICE was denying her proper food and medical care. However, instead of providing her proper nutrition and medical care, ICE isolated Alma, continued to deny her basic care, and was indifferent to her suffering and the suffering of her family, which includes two U.S. citizen children. ICE routinely inflicts maltreatment and abuse on detained immigrants who have fled from violence and persecution in their home countries. But Alma and others like her are not ‘illegal’ or ‘criminal,’ and they deserve fair treatment. Alma is absolutely no risk to the community,” said Jodi Ziesemer, Director of NYLAG’s Immigrant Protection Unit. 

On June 25, 2019, NYLAG lawyers sought an emergency stay of Alma’s removal from the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA). The next day, the BIA denied Alma’s request and ICE transferred her to a facility in Louisiana as the first step in her removal to Guatemala. But a team of dedicated NYLAG lawyers, along with co-counsel, jumped into action and filed an emergency request in federal court for the Southern District Court of New York to prevent ICE from precipitously deporting Alma to Guatemala.  The Court granted a Temporary Restraining Order to allow further proceedings. The Department of Homeland Security subsequently agreed to release Alma Centeno Santiago from ICE detention. 

There was a lot of public support to release Alma, including a #FreeAlma hashtag on social media, as well as public support from Congressman Gregory Meeks, Tiffany Cabán, and Senator Gillibrand. 

Last year, NYLAG handled 18,534 immigration cases—from asylum claims to deportation defense—affecting 36,000 people, including mothers like Alma. 

About NYLAG

Founded in 1990, the New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) is a leading not-for-profit legal services organization advocating for adults, children, and families that are experiencing poverty or have low-income. We address emerging and urgent needs with comprehensive, free civil legal services, direct representation, impact litigation, policy advocacy, financial counseling, a medical-legal partnership model, and community education and partnerships.

###

Share this post

Related Articles

STATEMENT: NYLAG Responds to New York City’s FY 2025 Adopted Budget

As one of New York City’s largest civil legal service providers, communities throughout the five boroughs rely on NYLAG to access justice, often in a time of crisis. Our advocates work diligently to meet people where they are and make our services as accessible as possible, partnering with every client to deliver dignified, trauma-informed legal resources, counsel, and advocacy. From this perspective, we advocate for a city budget that provides us with the resources we need to increase access to justice among lower income New Yorkers, supports those communities’ broader needs, and takes an equitable approach towards cultivating racial, social, and economic justice overall.

Read More »

Documented: Number of Unrepresented People in NYC Immigration Courts Marks 18-Year High

In a recent interview with DocumentedNY, Allison Cutler, supervising attorney in NYLAG’s Immigrant Protection Unit overseeing the Pro Se Plus Project (PSPP), provided insight into the pressing issue of the lack of representation and legal challenges confronting our new neighbors. In response to this need, NYLAG and partner organizations created Pro Se Plus Project (PSPP).

Read More »
Scroll to Top