fbpx
Blog Header-min

NYLAG реагирует на изменение правил взимания платы

Для незамедлительного релиза  

Контактное лицо: bpacheco@nylag.org | с: 917,771,9845

(НЬЮ-ЙОРК, Нью-Йорк) 12 августа 2019 года. Сегодня администрация Трампа внесла изменения в правило о государственном начислении, фактически затруднив для некоторых иммигрантов с низким доходом получение разрешения на постоянное проживание или временную визу. Окончательная и подлежащая исполнению версия правила должна вступить в силу в октябре. Управляющий адвокат Нью-Йоркской группы юридической помощи (NYLAG) Лиза Ривера сделала следующее заявление:

«В рамках еще одной слабо завуалированной тактики, направленной на несправедливое преследование иммигрантских общин, изменение правила взимания государственных сборов затруднит получение определенными иммигрантами законного статуса и будет препятствовать участию людей в программах по спасению жизни, включая SNAP (например, талоны на питание), Medicaid. и жилищная помощь. 

«Ужасающее воздействие на бесчисленное множество иммигрантов - родителей, воспитателей, наших старейшин, людей с ограниченными возможностями и детей - может помешать им получить эти необходимые общественные льготы, которые помогают удовлетворить основные человеческие потребности. 

«В NYLAG мы подтверждаем нашу приверженность сообществам иммигрантов и будем обучать и консультировать по индивидуальному применению этого измененного правила».

О NYLAG

Основанная в 1990 году, Нью-йоркская группа правовой помощи (NYLAG) является ведущей некоммерческой организацией юридических услуг, выступающей в защиту взрослых, детей и семей, которые испытывают бедность или имеют низкий доход. Мы удовлетворяем возникающие и неотложные потребности с помощью комплексных бесплатных юридических юридических услуг, прямого представительства, судебного разбирательства по вопросам воздействия, пропаганды политики, финансового консультирования, модели медицинского и юридического партнерства, а также образования и партнерских отношений в сообществе.

###

Поделиться этой записью

Статьи по Теме

N.Y.C.’s Social Services Chief Said to Face Inquiry Over Shelter Failure

New York City’s social services commissioner is being investigated over his handling of cases where homeless families had to stay overnight at a Bronx intake office while applying for shelter in July 2022. In a testimony to the City Council cited in this piece, a lawyer for NYLAG shared the experiences of two of her clients who stayed overnight at the office.

Прочитайте больше "
Русский
Пролистать наверх

fbpx
Blog Header-min

NYLAG responds to public charge rule change

For Immediate Release  

Contact: bpacheco@nylag.org | c: 917.771.9845

(NEW YORK, NY) August 12, 2019: Today, the Trump Administration has made a change to the public charge rule, effectively making it more difficult for certain immigrants with low-income to secure permanent residency or temporary visas. The final and enforceable version of the rule is slated to go into effect in October. The New York Legal Assistance Group’s (NYLAG) Managing Attorney Lisa Rivera has issued the following statement:

“In another thinly veiled tactic to unfairly target immigrant communities, the change to the public charge rule will make it harder for certain immigrants to obtain lawful status and will discourage people from enrolling in life-saving programs including SNAP (i.e. food stamps), Medicaid and housing assistance. 

“The chilling effect on countless immigrants—parents, providers, our elders, those with disabilities, and children—may prevent them for receiving these needed public benefits that assist in meeting basic human necessities. 

“At NYLAG, we reaffirm our commitment to immigrant communities, and will educate and advise on the individual application of this changed rule.”

About NYLAG

Founded in 1990, the New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) is a leading not-for-profit legal services organization advocating for adults, children, and families that are experiencing poverty or have low-income. We address emerging and urgent needs with comprehensive, free civil legal services, direct representation, impact litigation, policy advocacy, financial counseling, a medical-legal partnership model, and community education and partnerships.

###

Share this post

Related Articles

Opinion: One Easy Fix Could Help Thousands of Recent Venezuelan Immigrants

In a new op-ed for City Limits, NYLAG’s Melissa Chua advocates for the need to re-designate Temporary Protected Status for newly arrived Venezuelan immigrants. “With policies such as this, that lead with humanity instead of enforcement, thousands of Venezuelan nationals who cannot return home could work and remain legally in the United States while finding temporary safety within our borders.”

Read More »
Scroll to Top