fbpx
Blog Header-min

NYLAG приветствует изменение судебных правил штата Нью-Йорк, требующих судебных ордеров на аресты ICE в судах

Для незамедлительного релиза  
Контактное лицо: bpacheco@nylag.org | с: 917,771,9845

(НЬЮ-ЙОРК, Нью-Йорк) 18 апреля 2019 года. За последние пару лет ICE усилил меры по обеспечению соблюдения в нью-йоркских судах. Их присутствие там оказало пугающее воздействие на иммигрантов, которые реже участвовали в системе правосудия из-за страха быть задержанными. Президент и адвокат Нью-Йоркской группы юридической помощи (NYLAG) Бет Голдман сделала следующее заявление:

«В течение двух лет NYLAG активно участвовала в Коалиции ICE вне судов, которая была сформирована для решения этой серьезной проблемы. Коалиция работала с Управлением судебной администрации (OCA) и другими заинтересованными сторонами и подготовила отчет о добросовестности наших судов, в котором содержится анализ того, как аресты в суде подрывают и нарушают функционирование судебной системы ».

«После выпуска этого отчета ОСА внесла значительные общесистемные изменения для решения этой проблемы. ОСА выпустила директиву, которая ограничит способность ICE задерживать иммигрантов без судебного ордера или судебного приказа, разрешающего арест, среди других положений ».

«Это правило обеспечивает защиту - и убедительное заявление ОСА - о том, что иммигранты из Нью-Йорка должны иметь возможность доступа к нашим судам, не опасаясь широкого присутствия иммиграционных правоохранительных органов».

«Наша система правосудия не может функционировать справедливо, если все члены нашего сообщества не могут безопасно добиваться возмещения ущерба и справедливости».

О NYLAG

Основанная в 1990 году, Нью-йоркская группа правовой помощи (NYLAG) является ведущей некоммерческой организацией юридических услуг, выступающей в защиту взрослых, детей и семей, которые испытывают бедность или имеют низкий доход. Мы удовлетворяем возникающие и неотложные потребности с помощью комплексных бесплатных юридических юридических услуг, прямого представительства, судебного разбирательства по вопросам воздействия, пропаганды политики, финансового консультирования, модели медицинского и юридического партнерства, а также образования и партнерских отношений в сообществе.

###

Поделиться этой записью

Статьи по Теме

Voucher Holders Navigate Through Red Tape

A failure in NYCHA’s case management system caused thousands of tenants with Section 8 vouchers to be mislabeled as delinquent on their annual recertifications. NYLAG attorney Anna Luft spoke to The Riverdale Press about the issue and NYLAG’s swift action urging the agency to immediately suspend the terminations.

Прочитайте больше "
Русский
Пролистать наверх

fbpx
Search
Close this search box.
Blog Header-min

NYLAG commends change in NYS court rules requiring judicial warrants for ICE arrests at courthouses

For Immediate Release  
Contact: bpacheco@nylag.org | c: 917.771.9845

(NEW YORK, NY) April 18, 2019: Over the last couple of years ICE has stepped up enforcement in New York courthouses. Their presence there has had a chilling effect on immigrants, who were less likely to engage in the justice system for fear of being detained. The New York Legal Assistance Group’s (NYLAG) President & Attorney-in-Charge Beth Goldman has issued the following statement:

“For two years, NYLAG has actively participated in the ICE out of Courts Coalition, which was formed to address this serious problem. The coalition worked with the Office of Court Administration (OCA) and other stakeholders and produced the Integrity of our Courts Report providing analysis on how courthouse arrests derail and disrupt the functioning of the judiciary system.”

“Following the release of that report, the OCA made significant, system-wide changes to address this problem. OCA has issued a directive which will limit ICE’s ability to detain immigrants without a judicial warrant or judicial order authorizing an arrest, among other provisions.”

“This rule provides protections — and a strong statement by OCA — that immigrant New Yorkers must be able to access our courts without fearing widespread presence of immigration enforcement.”

“Our justice system cannot function equitably if all members of our community cannot safely appear to seek redress and justice.”

About NYLAG

Founded in 1990, the New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) is a leading not-for-profit legal services organization advocating for adults, children, and families that are experiencing poverty or have low-income. We address emerging and urgent needs with comprehensive, free civil legal services, direct representation, impact litigation, policy advocacy, financial counseling, a medical-legal partnership model, and community education and partnerships.

###

Share this post

Related Articles

Documented: Number of Unrepresented People in NYC Immigration Courts Marks 18-Year High

In a recent interview with DocumentedNY, Allison Cutler, supervising attorney in NYLAG’s Immigrant Protection Unit overseeing the Pro Se Plus Project (PSPP), provided insight into the pressing issue of the lack of representation and legal challenges confronting our new neighbors. In response to this need, NYLAG and partner organizations created Pro Se Plus Project (PSPP).

Read More »
Scroll to Top